Hannah's War : A moving and heartwarming WWII land girl saga

Hannah's War : A moving and heartwarming WWII land girl saga

Regular price
£6.99
Sale price
£6.99
Regular price
£7.99
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

by Shirley Mann

9781838774455

17 March 2022

A moving and dramatic World War II land girl saga by the author of Lily's War and Bobby's War, winner of the RNA romantic saga award. For readers of Nancy Revell and Annie Groves. It's 1942 and at nineteen years old Hannah Compton has the world at her feet.

But with World War II raging, the country is in turmoil, and Hannah decides to do her bit for the War effort. Hannah's beloved grandfather taught her to grow vegetables in his market garden and inspires her to become one of over 200,000 women joining the Land Army. Posted to Salhouse Farm on the outskirts of Norwich, Hannah is excited for the adventure ahead of her.

But soon reality hits. Hannah is a city girl at heart and life in the countryside is not what she imagined. It's cold, she hates the hard work, she misses her friends back in Manchester, and she has to share a double bed with a stranger.

As Hannah gets used to the punishing farm work and makes some friends, she starts to settle in. But she simply can't get used to living side by side with the German prisoners of war. Then a young German doctor steps in to save Hannah's life and everything she thought she knew is brought into question.

In a country at war, will Hannah be prepared to risk everything for the enemy? - - - - - - Praise for Shirley Mann: 'What a brilliant read . . .

Bobby is a wonderful heroine.' Ginny Bell, author of The Dover Cafe at War on Bobby's War 'Plucky and resourceful, Bobby is exactly the sort of person you'd want at your side in real life.' Kitty Danton, author of A Wartime Christmas on Bobby's War'[The story] read so true to me and I really didn't want to put it down. . .' Vera Morgan, wartime WAAF on Lily's War 'An impeccably researched and uplifting story of love, loss and courage.' Clare Harvey, author of The Gunner Girl on Lily's War