The Leviathan : a spellbinding tale of superstition, myth and murder

The Leviathan : a spellbinding tale of superstition, myth and murder

Regular price
£13.99
Sale price
£13.99
Regular price
£14.99
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

by Rosie Andrews

9781526637338

3 Feb 2022

SELECTED AS ONE OF THE OBSERVER'S 10 BEST DEBUT NOVELISTS OF 2022'Outstanding... a seething, haunting delight' Beth Underdown, award-winning author of THE WITCHFINDER'S SISTER 'Darkly compelling and dripping with atmosphere... bewitching' Stacey Halls, Sunday Times bestselling author of THE FAMILIARSA beguiling tale of superstition, myth and murder, perfect for fans of The Binding, The Essex Serpent and Once Upon a River.

SHE IS AWAKE... Norfolk, 1643. With civil war tearing England apart, reluctant soldier Thomas Treadwater is summoned home by his sister, who accuses a new servant of improper conduct with their widowed father.

By the time Thomas returns home, his father is insensible, felled by a stroke, and their new servant is in prison, facing charges of witchcraft. Thomas prides himself on being a rational, modern man, but as he unravels the mystery of what has happened, he uncovers not a tale of superstition but something dark and ancient, linked to a shipwreck years before. Something has awoken, and now it will not rest.

Richly researched, incredibly atmospheric, and deliciously unsettling, The Leviathan is set in England during a time of political and religious turbulence. It is a tale of family and loyalty, superstition and sacrifice, but most of all it is a spellbinding mystery and a story of impossible things. 'Thoroughly gripping and utterly absorbing' Jennifer Saint, author of ARIADNE 'skilfully blends historical detail, myth, faith and the fantastic into a dark and compelling story of huge imagination' Anita Frank, author of THE LOST ONES